function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Pulkit Sood 6Pulkit Sood 6 

Where should i consider to use view state or just transfer the Id and everytime i need to work on a record i bring values into transient variables

hi, I am new to salesforce, was given a dummy project as training purpose after reading about view state and execution order, context,etc. i am a bit confused about how to save the state(as with static vairables) through multiple request to the Server, i can be mistaking but that's what i got till now,

static vars can't be used because, HTTP, being stateless, removes them after every request in the VFpage

can use  view state but that would increase transmission lag, can use transient variables(to have one non-transient "id" variable and retreieve rest of the record fields), but that would require querying everytime a user makes database request,

can anyone tell me when to consider using the transient variable method and when view state?? Thanx

sfdcMonkey.comsfdcMonkey.com
Transient keyword to declare instance variable that can not be saved and should not transmitted as part of view state for visual force page.
Basically ,View State is an encrypted, hidden <input> field on a Visualforce page that keeps track of Apex controller state & Visualforce page state between server requests. This field is only generated when there is an <apex:form> tag present on a page.

ViewState is only used on a single page that handles postbacks. Once you redirect to the new page, the ViewState is lost.

The Whole Process of Calling is like this :

A. URL Requested
B. Apex Controller Instantiated on Server
C. Controller State Serialized & Encrypted to View State
D. Page Markup Sent to Browser & Rendered
E. View State Decrypted & Deserialized (for Postbacks)