function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
KSorensonKSorenson 

Apex trigger troubleshooting - update opportunity stage on a certain date

Hello,

I am trying to write what should be a simple Apex trigger but am having issues figuring out the correct code and syntax.  This is what I have so far - please forgive me, I am an admin, not a developer/coder.

What we are trying to accomplish here, is a trigger that will automatically change the stage of a Recurring Donation (opportunity) that has a pledged date that has come due (due today or overdue). There are a few other criteria involved (can't be a C&P payment type, must be pledged status etc).

I am currently getting the error: "Error: Condition expression must be of type Boolean at line 11 column 17" but I cannot figure out how to correct it.  (the line reads  if (Op.StageName ='Pledged'))

There is likely more wrong with my code, but this is where I am currently stuck. If you can find a better way to accomplish what I am doing, please make a suggestion. 

trigger AutoPost on Opportunity (after update) {

date myDate = date.today();

for (Opportunity op: Trigger.new)              //check if record is a monthly donation, record is due/overdue,record is status Pledged, not C&P payment
    {
        if (op.RecordType = '012i0000000Rt6LAAS')
        { 
            if(Op.CloseDate <= myDate)
            {
                if (Op.StageName ='Pledged')
                {
                    if (op.Payment_Method__c != 'Click & Pledge')

Op.StageName ='Posted';                      // Change the Opportunity.Stage to posted

}
            } 
        }                                    
    }
}

Thanks to all eyes and fingers in advance.

Malni Chandrasekaran 2Malni Chandrasekaran 2
Karen Sorenson,
Please use == operator to compare instead of just = which is a assignment operator.