function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
NiknitNiknit 

Why is this before trigger not working?please help

trigger Accnumberupdate3 on contact (before insert ,before update) {

list<contact> con = new list<contact>();
             Set <id> ids = new set<id>();

for( contact c : trigger.new){
			  if(c.Finalize_Number__c == true){
               ids.add(c.Id);}
       } 
           con = [select acc_number__c,finalize_number__c,account.acc_number__c from contact where id in :ids];
        for(contact c : con){
                system.debug('for condition');

c.Acc_Number__c = c.account.acc_number__c;

}

}

}

OR

}

}

}

Hi, I am new to this.
what i am trying to do is make a trigger in which acc_number__c is updated in Contact from the account field acc_number__c if the checkbox field final_number__c is selected in the contact object.
the above both before trigger seems fine logically to me?am i missing something?should i be using after trigger?I tried with after trigger and  it works,what is the problem with this before triggers?

Thanks

Best Answer chosen by Niknit
Maharajan CMaharajan C
Hi Nitin,

You can't get the record Id before it inserted.Here you are trying to get the record Id during before the contact created .Only you can do after the record creation so it works fine for after event in trigger.

Here you have to use the Account Ids Like below in Before event!!!

trigger UpdateChildbasedonParent on Contact (before insert,before update)
{
set<id> AccIds=new set<id>();
for(contact con:trigger.new)
{
AccIds.add(con.AccountId);
}
map<Id,Account> RelatedAccounts = new map<Id,Account>([SELECT Id, Name,acc_number__c FROM Account WHERE Id IN :AccIds]);
{
Account Related=RelatedAccounts.get(con.AccountId);
If(con.Finalize_Number__c == true)
con.Acc_Number__c=Related.acc_number__c;
}

​Let me know if it works or not!!!