function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
KimKim 

Javascript Validation on Visualforce Page

Hello,

Need help on javascript validation on a visualforce page. The VF page itself is using the standard controller for Opportunity. I'm new to vf page and js, so I'm unsure what I'm missing. Any feedback is appreciated. 

<script>
    function validateType(){
        var valType = document.getElementById'{!$Component.form.pageBlock2.initialFollowType.outputType.Type}').value;
if(valType.value=="Email")
            {
                alert("If Initial Follow Up Type = Phone or Email, Follow Up Date is Required, Follow Up Time of Day is Required, and Appointment Time should be blank");
                return false;
            }else
            {
              if(valType =="Phone"&& valDate ==NULL && valTimeofDay ==NULL && valTime !=NULL)
              {
                    alert("If Initial Follow Up Type = Phone or Email, Follow Up Date is Required, Follow Up Time of Day is Required, and Appointment Time should be blank");
                    return false;
              }
             }return true;        

</script>
Shruti SShruti S
The mistakes in the code are - 
  1. You have to specify the type attribute for the script tag.
  2. The function can be declared as shown below
    var fnName = function() {} );
  3. The id in should be enclosed in simple parenthesis. Like -  
    document.getElementById( id ).value;
  4. You can use else if instead of putting if inside the else.
Here is the corrected JavaScript code - 
<script type="text/javascript">
    var validateType = function() {
        var valType = document.getElementById( "{!$Component.form.pageBlock2.initialFollowType.outputType.Type}" ).value;

if( valType === "Email" ) {