function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Kevin HorwitzKevin Horwitz 

Issue with Passing variable from VF to Order By in Controller

I'm using a datatable in VF and I can normally get it to populate via my controller.  However, I need a dynamic variable in my SOQL to have the end user sort by the choice of headers in the table and I apparently keep passing NULL values to the string.  I'm a rookie with Apex and a novice with VF when it comes to working with Controllers, so I'm trying to figure out how to pass the myString value from VF to the SOQL in my Controller (code listed below).  Ideally I'd like to send this info via a commandlink in the column headers within in the datatable, but I'm fairly open to suggestions.  Thoughts?

Controller:

public class dataTableOli {
public String myString {get;set;}
String myquery =       
            'SELECT id,Opportunity.Product_Name__c,Opportunity.Account.Name,Opportunity.Account.Agency_Names__c,Opportunity.Account.Customer_Number__c,Opportunity.Account.Agency_Customer_ID__c,unitprice,opportunityid,Opportunity.StageName,Opportunity.Name,Opportunity.id,Opportunity.Previous_Expire__c,Opportunity.Previous_Amount__c,Opportunity.Product_Tier__c,Opportunity.Add_Print_Subscription__c,Name ' +
            'FROM OpportunityLineItem ' +
            'WHERE Opportunity.Account.Agency_Names__c=\'001j000000R7b8s\' and CALENDAR_YEAR(Opportunity.Previous_Expire__c) =2017 and CALENDAR_MONTH(Opportunity.Previous_Expire__c) =12  and Opportunity.Previous_Amount__c > 0 '+
            'ORDER BY '+MyString+ ' ASC Limit 10';

List<OpportunityLineItem> oli;
    public List<OpportunityLineItem> getoli() {

if(oli==NULL) 
   oli=Database.query(myquery);

return oli;
}
   }

jigarshahjigarshah
Kevin,