function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Mohan Babu Kutuvan JanakiramanMohan Babu Kutuvan Janakiraman 

Conditions in List FOR loop statement

Hello All,

I'm new to Salesforce Apex coding and undergoing some training and classes in Apex. I noticed that we cannot give any condition in List FOR loop. For example, lets say I've a list of 1000 Contacts in myContactList. I need to loop myContactList for one particular account instead of running all the records one by one and check inside the loop if the account name is what am expecting. I've seen we can use SOQL for this. But my question is can we not use the local list variable to have filter and loop only the records which I want to?

Something similar to below code for reference:
for (Contacts myContact : myContactList.Where(Account.Name = 'Acme')){

}

Let me know if there are any way I can achieve this using myContactList instead of having SOQL call.

Thanks.

Regards,
Mohan Babu
Best Answer chosen by Mohan Babu Kutuvan Janakiraman
Developer.mikie.Apex.StudentDeveloper.mikie.Apex.Student

Ok, well if you have a list that you can filter through and dont want to query another through soql, like I said cycle through the entire list and then make a split with the if statement. 

for (Contacts Con: myContactList ){
if(Con.Account.Name == 'Acme'){
//This is a filtered list

}
}

Another option i guess would be, although there is nothing wrong with splitting it as I have done above , would be:

//Introduce a List for every filter criteria
List<Contact> FilteredContact = new List<Contact>();

//Make a broad SOQL

//Cycle through MyContactList

//Use if statement to fill Contact Holder

FilteredContact .add(Con);
}

You can now cycle through FilteredContact or any number of reduced Lists that you create on the initial cycle through.