function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Vijay KodaliVijay Kodali 

Can we have a Rollback chance for Migrated/Deployed Meta data using Force.com IDE?

Hi,
I am new to Sales force. I have a query while migrating meta data of Sales force Org(PRD) to Another Org(PRD). 
Can we have a Rollback chance for Migrated/Deployed Meta data using Force.com IDE?
I mean it is like versioning. Can we revert back to previous version of Meta data?

Thanks,
Vijay Kodali.
Sales force Developer.
karthikeyan perumalkarthikeyan perumal
Hello, 

A true rollback doesn't necessarily exist in Salesforce.

A true rollback doesn't necessarily exist in Salesforce. Unfortunately, there are going to be certain aspects of the process that need to be a manual step as they do not currently exist in the API (Approval Process for instance).

However, there are a few steps you can take to mitigate problems you may run into. Obviously, you want to thoroughly test your entire application before you put anything into production. This is also true for your deployment. It is a good practice to do a dry run deploy before you do your final push to production. Make sure everything is fully working and tested in a Sandbox (preferably a recently refreshed Full Copy). It is important to note that once you do your refresh to the Full Copy sandbox that all Prod changes should be stopped. If they are absolute, must-have changes, these changes must also be done in the Sandbox. The goal is to make your sandbox replicate production to find any issues.