function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Mark YohaiMark Yohai 

apex jobs holding

I'm not a developer, just an admin and can't seem to get salesforce support to answer a question about why apex jobs never leave the "holding" status in our org.  Since 11/6 - none of them have run.  Prior an hourly job was kicked off. It's the MailChimpToSalesforceBatch    that is an integration/sync job.  

The package from Mailchimp hasn't changed, only the behaviour. ( now we have to manually enter inbound leads acquired to our lists - where before everything was working fine.

Any suggestions? Salesforce standard support has rejected my requiests to look into why the job stays holding and is not released.
GauravGargGauravGarg

Mark,

Found one article on Holding status, please go through this might answers your query:

Based on the Summer '14 Release Notes the holding status appears to be associated with the new Apex Flex Queue feature.
The Apex Flex Queue pilot enables you to submit batch jobs beyond the allowed limit of five queued or active jobs. Any jobs that are submitted for execution but aren’t processed immediately by the system are in holding status and are placed in a separate queue (the Apex flex queue). Up to 100 batch jobs can be in the holding status. When system resources become available, the system picks up jobs from the Apex flex queue and moves them to the batch job queue. The status of these moved jobs changes from Holding to Queued. Queued jobs get executed when the system is ready to process new jobs.