function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Rajesh-SFDCRajesh-SFDC 

Dublicate Email Detection Trigger

Hi Everyone , 

I am new to trigger i had one requirement to write a trigger for dublicate email detection in bulk mode .
I tried below code 

trigger DublicateEmailDetection on Candidate__c ( before insert,before update ) {
List<Candidate__c> EmailList = [Select Email__c from Candidate__c];
    Set<String> setString = new Set<String>();
    for (Candidate__c k : EmailList )
    {
     setString.add(k.Email__c);
    } 
    for(Candidate__c c : Trigger.new)
    {
    if(setString.contains(c.Email__c))
        {
        c.Email__c.addError('Duplicate Email');

}
    }

Can you please check if this code will work fine in bulk mode ?
Youre help is really appreciated 
Best Answer chosen by Rajesh-SFDC
sfdcMonkey.comsfdcMonkey.com
hi rajesh kumar
use below trigger code for bulk data upload

trigger DublicateEmailDetection on Candidate__c ( before insert,before update ) {
   Map<String, Candidate__c> canMap = new Map<String, Candidate__c>(); 
   for (Candidate__c l : Trigger.new) {
    if ((l.Email__c != null) && (Trigger.isInsert || (l.Email__c != Trigger.oldMap.get(l.Id).Email__c))) {

// Make sure another new lead isn't also a duplicate
        if (canMap.containsKey(l.Email__c)) {
            l.Email__c.addError('Another new record has the same email address.');
        } else {
            canMap.put(l.Email__c, l);
        }
    }
}
for (Candidate__c l : [SELECT Email__c FROM Candidate__c WHERE Email__c IN :canMap.KeySet()]) {
    Candidate__c newLCan = canMap.get(l.Email__c);
    newLCan.Email__c.addError('A record with this email address already exists.');
   }   
 }
addError() doesn't roll back your insertion but it prevent the further execution of the script, so you data is never inserted if an you throw an error on UI.