function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Mel LisauMel Lisau 

Help with Integrating the Rest API ?

I am new to the Rest API wihin Salesforce and have a few queries.

1) With the Rest API ,do i need to create a connected app within my org before I can connect  and do all users use the same Secret Key ?  
2) What is required to implement OAuth authentication and do i need too ?
3) With the Rest API ,can i still use the SOQL or is there a better feature for  querying data ?
4) Can i query API endpoints and filter the response ?
5) Can i use the Rest Api to integrate data into Salesforce ?

Would one use the Rest API over Soap because SOAP requires downloading a WSDL file, Converting the WSDL files to regular classes and then invoking methods on those objects ?

Thanks
Vishwajeet kumarVishwajeet kumar
Hello,
Answer to 1,3,4,5 is yes. REST Api is useful for small data volumn operations or mobile/web application integrations. SOAP Api is useful for more bigger data volumn integrations. Bulk Api for bulk data(Millions of records) operations.

Checkout which api to use (https://help.salesforce.com/articleView?id=sf.integrate_what_is_api.htm&type=5)for more details. Check out REST Api developer guide for details on how REST Api works.

Thanks
Mel LisauMel Lisau
Hi ,
thanks for the reply. I will definitely read the link you sent.  But at the moment Im using Soap, (requires a wsdl) . if its doing the job ,I just am trying to weigh out what the big advantage of moving to REST ? 
One thing I can see from the outset is usig the JSON format .  
thanks
Vishwajeet kumarVishwajeet kumar
Hello,