function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Abhishek KhoslaAbhishek Khosla 

trigger.oldmap and Trigger.newmap

Dear All,

I am new to SFDC. I have been gudied that it is a best practicse to write an apex class and then call that class in a trigger. I want to udersatnd how we can use trigger.oldmap or trigger.newmap in an Apex class. Can anyone help me with an example or provide me a link 
Karan KeharKaran Kehar
Hi Abhishek,

You create a trigger handler class and have a method in that which accepts two maps as method arguments.From trigger you call this handler method and pass trigger.oldmap and trigger.newmap to the method. You can compare the old and new version of the record using this.

You can check the blog below for this
https://blog.mirketa.com/salesforce-developer-guide-use-of-helperhandler-class-to-manage-trigger-execution/
SecondID PatelSecondID Patel
Hi Abhishek,

Here is an example. The Scenario of the trigger is that there is a checkbox on Account object called "Create Contact". If this is changed from unchecked to checked on Insert/Update events then contact is created.

Trigger Code

trigger CreateContact on Account (after INSERT, after Update) {

CreateContactHandler.createContactMethod(Trigger.NewMap,Trigger.OldMap);

}

TriggerHandler

public class CreateContactHandler {

public static void createContactMethod(Map<Id,Account> newaccMap, Map<Id,Account> oldaccMap){
        Set<Id> accIds = New Set<Id>();
        List<Contact> conList = New List<Contact>();

for(Account acc : newaccMap.values()){
            if(newaccMap.get(acc.Id).Create_Contact__c && !oldaccMap.get(acc.Id).Create_Contact__c){
              Contact con = New Contact();
              con.AccountId = newaccMap.get(acc.Id).Id;
              con.FirstName =  'FirstName';
              con.LastName =   'LastName' ;