function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Raquel RiemerRaquel Riemer 

Create a visualforce table with fields from related lists

I am somewhat new to this to this area of salesforce so please be patient.

I want to create a table using visual force that can be accessed from a button residing Travel__c

I want the following fields in the table that are either directly or indirectly related to that specific Travel__c

Field 1 is from Tour__Interests__r (which is a child of master/detail with Travel__c)  Contact__c which is a (lookup to the contact) First Name and then Last Name

Field 2 would take the same path as above and then pick up a related list to the contact called Recognitions__c and the fields I want from there are Amount, Date, Name
And if there are no Recognitions either that Tour Interest Record can be skipped or the recognition fields can be null

I have tried multiple ways to get the related list fields but cannot get there. I believe I need to build a custom controller as the error seems to be it does not recognize any of the Travel Interests fields.

Help

Raquel RiemerRaquel Riemer
Note: I am still using classic but will be converting soon
Britto Fernandez 2Britto Fernandez 2
Dear Raquel,

Roughly it would be translated as 
- In the method called from button, use 1 or multiple SOQL on Tour__Interests__r and populate/manipulate result in a list.
- Above list display in VF.

If you already have a code, it can be resolved faster by sharing screen via skype/email(madhukar.reddy@heptarc.com) or zoom. 
Deepali KulshresthaDeepali Kulshrestha
Hi Raquel,

Please go through with below code, it may be helpful to you.

Step 1: Create a Visualforce Page:ContactRelatedList.vfp 

<apex:page standardController="Account" extensions="ContactRelatedListController" sidebar="true" showHeader="false" >