function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Sathish LoganathanSathish Loganathan 

How to get the value of a formula field inside a lightning controller without Apex class?

Hi,

I am new to Lightning development.

Can someone help me with this:

I get undefined when I try to get the value of a formula field.

var EditPaymentsfieldValue = component.get('v.EditPaymentsRequired__c'); - < formula field.

If I refer other custom field, it is returning the value.

Regards,
Sathish Loganathan
Deepali KulshresthaDeepali Kulshrestha
Hi Sathish,
Greetings to you!

- Without an apex class, it is not possible to fetch the records or value from the database.
- var EditPaymentsfieldValue = component.get('v.EditPaymentsRequired__c'); , In this you can't get field value directly .
- Can you please share your code?

I hope you find the above solution helpful. If it does, please mark as Best Answer to help others too.

Thanks and Regards,
Deepali Kulshrestha.

Ajay K DubediAjay K Dubedi
Hi Satish,

As far as I understand your problem, here's the answer. Lightning component as you knnow has 3 parts: component which serves as the frontend, Javascript which acts as a link between frontend and backend and Apex which serves as backend. Since objects and custom fields are on backend, so you can't fetch them EASILY without using Apex. Still if you want it without using apex do it as per following link. You still need to query fields from backend and then you can use it in controller directly without using Apex. Follow: http://www.sfdcpoint.com/salesforce/soql-query-in-javascript-example/

I hope you find the above solution helpful. If it does, please mark as Best Answer to help others too.
Thanks,
Ajay Dubedi    
Sathish LoganathanSathish Loganathan
Hi Deepika and Ajay,

Thanks a lot for the reply.