function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
CodeHeartsSFDCCodeHeartsSFDC 

Error with Deleting Parent - After Delete Trigger

Hello,

Can anyone help me build a trigger for the below requirement please? I'm new to using delete triggers and triggers in general. Thank you!

Requirement: I have 2 objects "Order__c" and "Detail__c". Order__c is the parent and Detail__c (the children) has a lookup to order. There is a field on Detail__c called "Class__c" which is a lookup to another Item object. The Class__c field can hold two types of values only. One is "Regular" and other is "Linear".

Now when a Detail__c record is deleted, if any of the remaining detail records contain Class__c = Linear, then nothing should happen. If the Detail__c records related to Order__c contains only Class__c = Regular, then the Detail__c record (Class__c = Regular) and the correspionding Order__c record should be deleted

Below is the trigger I tried, but it is giving a null-pointer exception. I do not know if this trigger will perform the requirement stated above even if the error is corrected. Quick help will be highly appreciated. Many thanks!

trigger deleteOrder on Detail__c (after delete) {

List<Order__c> orderDelete = new List<Order__c>();
    Set<Id> orderId = new Set<Id>();  
    Integer count = 0;

for(Detail__c d: trigger.old) {
        orderId.add(d.Order__c);
    }

Map<Id,Order__c> orderMap = new Map<Id,Order__c>([select Id from Order__c where Id In :orderId]);

for(Detail__c d :trigger.old) {
        if(d.Class__r.Name.contains('Linear')){
        count++;
        Order__c o = orderMap.get(d.Order__c);
        orderDelete.add(o);
        }
    }

if(count == 0) {
       delete orderDelete;
    }
}

Tad Aalgaard 3Tad Aalgaard 3
You need to add ALL ROWS to your SOQL statement so it can reach into the recycle bin.