function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Andrew Aldis 15Andrew Aldis 15 

Looking for a bit of career advice.

I will be getting laid off at the end of the year and am looking for some advice of credentialling.  I had a SF Developer 1 but let it lapse.  I am studying to retake the test in Sept.  After that I am going to start studying for either the platform developer 2 or work toward the application architect (probably will not get that completed before I have to start looking).  My question is which would be more attractive to potential employers?  Career wise I just want to continue being a developer and do not have any immediate goals of doing anything else.  
In your opinion what are the benefits of each credential, and keep in mind I will start looking in Oct or early Nov so I will definately be able to complete the Dev 2 by then but probably will not be able to get more that 2 or 3 of the necessary credentials for the application architect, although I do think I could commit to getting that complete by the end of the year.  

Any advice would be much appreciated.  Thanks in advance.
Stephanie Taylor 12Stephanie Taylor 12
Hi Andrew,

I am not an expert by any means but I have talked to about 100 Salesforce Developers in the past month trying to fill a Salesforce Developer Role that I have available in Denver, CO. I would be more than happy to share my knowledge of what I have learned about different companies, pay scale, certifications, etc. Again, I am not an expert but if my knowledge will help you, feel free to e-mail me at stephanie.taylor@kastsystems or call me at 913-226-7358. You will not have a problem finding a role based soley on your experience but depending on the type of company you are looking to join, certifications are important in different fields and required at some companies.