function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Kent LichtyKent Lichty 

How to pass a class wrapper with Identifier from LWC datatable to Apex on Save?

I am fairly new to Salesforce and really new to learning about LWC, and my organization has tasked me with what I think is a difficult challenge. Because sometimes the (poor) definition of sObjects does NOT make them conducive to user maintenance, I have been tasked to develop a maintenance application (in the form of an LWC datatable) which makes it easier for users to enter/change prices  (expressed in 6 different currencies)  for a given product. In order to do this I needed to create a class wrapper which combines properties from a Product sObject and a Price sObject. Then I need to be able to SAVE those changed prices back into the appropriate Price record, and that is the difficult part with which I am struggling.  But I would think that this would be a common use case.

And while there is a LOT of information about DISPLAYING class wrappers in a datatable (which is quite simple) there is virtually no information about sending the list of modified properties back to an imperative Apex program which could then do the record updating, and that is what I am hoping that somebody has figured out how to do.

I think I am very close to being able to achieve this, and am hoping that somebody can help me get to the finish line.  Here is the approach I am taking:

For what it’s worth, here is my wrapper class which is keyed by a “product” code and then has the associated prices in 6 different currencies, along with some other information about the product.

public String product{get;set;}
        public String productFamily {get;set;}
        public String productLine {get;set;}
        public String productSubLine {get;set;}
        public String productCategory {get;set;}