function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Ross McLeod 3Ross McLeod 3 

Subflow Record Variable Input

Hi

I'm fairly new to flow development but I'm trying to be a bit efficient when it comes to building them keeping in mind the governor limits. So what I wanted to do was build a master flow which runs when an object is saved which runs various subflows. What I want to do in the master is select the record and pass that off to the subflows which will alter the data and then pass it back out and set a "Data Changed" variable so the master know if it has to save the record. 

Problem seems to be that although I have selected the record out in the master I don't seem to be able to pass that to the input variable on my subflow.

This is my Master Flow

Master Flow
Candidate Record Variable
Candidate Record Variable

Sub Flow
Subflow

The Email action was put in so that I could check that the record selected had been populated when I ran / debugged the flow. Which it was. 

I think the issue is because the Candidate Record input variable is not being set but I'm not sure why.

Anyone that has any ideas would be a life saver.

Thanks
Best Answer chosen by Ross McLeod 3
Abdul KhatriAbdul Khatri
Hi Ross,

First of all I see you are running this flow as Auto Launched, possibly from Process Builder and hopefully sending the Id from there.

With I guess Spring 20, Salesforce has provided to run the flow on SObject Triggers, which has been greatly enhanced in Winter 21, you can leverage that and remove the layer of Process builder
https://releasenotes.docs.salesforce.com/en-us/summer20/release-notes/rn_forcecom_flow_fbuilder_new_flow_window_start.htm