function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Muthouazhagi DhanapalMuthouazhagi Dhanapal 

Error Handling and recovery during Salesforce integration

Hi ,

I am new to Salesforce development, and I am doing my first project on integrating Salesforce and external systems. My remote system will use the REST API to create/update/delete data in Salesforce. I read the following in the Salesforce document :

"Error handling—All the remote call-in methods, standard or custom APIs, require the remote system to handle any subsequent errors, such as timeouts and the management of retries. Middleware can be used to provide the logic for error handling and recovery.

• Recovery—A custom retry mechanism needs to be created if quality-of-service requirements dictate it. In this case, it’s important to ensure idempotent design characteristics. Platform event enables subscribers to use the replay ID to fetch messages within a certain time period after those messages were published."

Can anyone please tell me what kind of errors and recovery I will have to take care of in my remote system? Any links will be very helpful for me. I am not using any middleware, in what cases should I consider using a middleware. 

Best Answer chosen by Muthouazhagi Dhanapal
Abdul KhatriAbdul Khatri
Hi Muthouazhagi,

How your remote system is planning to use the Salesroce REST APIs to perform DML operations in Salesforce?

There are couple of tools can be used which has built in mehcanism for retry in case of any failures.
  • Mulesoft
  • Boomi
  • Microsoft Azure
If you are planning to custom create build something like .Net API, Nodejs etc. then I will think you need to possibly build something to capture those failures into some Database and build some kind of reprocessing to process those fail records.