function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Jeff BomarJeff Bomar 

BeforeInsert caused by: System.NullPointerException: Attempt to de-reference a null object:

Any help would be great. I created a trigger the before update works but if I add Before insert I get a NullPointerException: not sure where to go I have added the system.debug in every block of code but bot sure what I am looking at I am very new to Apex triggers.

Code:
trigger CalculateBalanceOfCustom on Custom_Programming__c (before insert, before update) 
{

//SQL statement to lookup price 
    List<PricebookEntry> Pbe = [SELECT UnitPrice FROM PricebookEntry WHERE Product2.Name IN('Custom Development','Tape Drop')AND PriceBook2.Name='DAKCS'];

//New Values for loop
    for (Custom_Programming__c cp:Trigger.new){

//Old record values  
       Custom_Programming__c oldcp = Trigger.oldMap.get(cp.ID);

//If total hours or custom type has not changed then bail    
       if(cp.Total_Hours__c==null || (cp.Total_Hours__c==oldcp.Total_Hours__c && cp.Custom_Type__c == oldcp.Custom_Type__c))
           continue;

//Tapedrop
       if (cp.Custom_Type__c == 'Tape Drop') 
        {
            cp.Testing_Balance__c = pbe[1].UnitPrice + (pbe[0].UnitPrice * cp.Total_Hours__c);
        }
        //No Billing Bug Fix
       else if (cp.Custom_Type__c =='No Billing' || cp.Custom_Type__c =='Bug Fix')
        {
          cp.Testing_Balance__c = 0;
        }
        //Everything Else
       else 
        {
           cp.Testing_Balance__c =pbe[0].UnitPrice * cp.Total_Hours__c;
        }        
    }
}

Best Answer chosen by Jeff Bomar
AbhishekAbhishek (Salesforce Developers) 
“System.NullPointerException: Attempt to de-reference a null object”