function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Georg WilleGeorg Wille 

Is there a specific forum for documentation questions / errata?

I am pretty new in salesforce development, which makes it the more important that I can rely on the documentation. To start with, I stumbled over this:
The QuoteLineItem doc for the Discount field (https://developer.salesforce.com/docs/atlas.en-us.object_reference.meta/object_reference/sforce_api_objects_quotelineitem.htm) enumerates under Properties the following operations: Create, Filter, Nillable, Sort, Update
Wereas the OpportunityLineItem doc for the same field (https://developer.salesforce.com/docs/atlas.en-us.object_reference.meta/object_reference/sforce_api_objects_opportunitylineitem.htm) has only this under Properties: Filter, Nillable, Sort
Questions:
  • is this an oversight in the doc ?
  • or am I wrong in assuming that Update signifies that I can update the field via Apex code ?
  • or else, where can I find an explanation that tells me how to interpret the entries under Properties ?
Best Answer chosen by Georg Wille
AnudeepAnudeep (Salesforce Developers) 

Hi Georg,

You can find the explanation around the API Field Properties here

Create - Value for the field can be specified during create using the API

Filter - Can be used as filter criteria in a SOQL query FROM or WHERE clause.

Nillable - The field can contain a null value.

Sort - Indicates whether a query can sort on this field (true) or not (false).

Update -  Can be updated using the API.

Looked at both the documentations. The discount field in both the docs have the following: Create, Filter, Nillable, Sort, Update

QuoteLineItem

OpportunityLineItem

Let me know if it helps. If it does, please mark this answer as Best. It may help others in the community. Thank You!

All Answers