function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Ryan Dempsey 12Ryan Dempsey 12 

Getting Field_Custom_Validation Error when testing Trigger that prevents deletion of opp lines

I am an admin without delevoping skills and am getting the following error "System.DmlException: Delete failed. First exception on row 0 with id 00k1g0000081vIZAAY; first error: FIELD_CUSTOM_VALIDATION_EXCEPTION, Only a system administrator can delete line items: []" when running the test or when trying to validate a change set with the following trigger and test class.  I poached most of this from the community. I'm wondering if the error has something to do with the profile permissions for the running user? Those with the enrollment profile do not have permissions to create pricebooks. When I replace "Enrollment" with "System Administrator" in the system user profile assignment of the test class, I no longer get those errors and I get my code coverage etc but that's not the test I want to run. I want System admins to be able to delete Opp lines and want to prevent everyone else from deleting them. I'm not even sure if that is what was generating the initial error, but IF it is, would anyone have any ideas on how to handle this in my test. Would I need to insert a system admin user as well and create the pricebook as that system admin and allow the rest of the test to be executed as user with the enrollment profile? 

This is the Trigger. 
trigger preventOppLineDelete on OpportunityLineItem (before delete) 
{
    String profileName=[SELECT id,Name FROM Profile WHERE Id =:UserInfo.getProfileId()].Name ;  
    for (OpportunityLineItem a : Trigger.old)
    {      
        If(profileName!='System Administrator')
        {
            a.addError('Only a system administrator can delete line items');
        }
    }

}

This is the Test Class
@isTest