function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Dee Dee AaronDee Dee Aaron 

Help to create a test class

Hi there,

I have an Apex class that works, but I need to create a test class for it. I'm not a developer and don't know how, so I sincerely appreciate your help. Thank you.

Apex Trigger:
trigger FeedCommentTest on FeedComment (after insert) 
{
    Id profileId = UserInfo.getProfileId();
    String profileName =[Select Id, Name from Profile where Id=:profileId].Name;
    Set<id> SalesEngineeringSet = new Set<Id>();
    List<SALES_ENGINEERING_REQUEST__c> serList = new List<SALES_ENGINEERING_REQUEST__c>();
    for(FeedComment f : Trigger.New)
    {
        if(profileName  == 'Net Planning Department')
        {
            SalesEngineeringSet.add(f.ParentId);
        }          
    }

if(!SalesEngineeringSet.IsEmpty()){
        for(SALES_ENGINEERING_REQUEST__c ser : [SELECT ID,Status__c FROM SALES_ENGINEERING_REQUEST__c WHERE ID In: SalesEngineeringSet]){
            if(ser.Status__c != 'Approved' && ser.Status__c != 'Unable to Meet Request'){
                ser.Status__c = 'Approved';
                serList.add(ser);
            }
        }
    }

if(!serList.IsEmpty())
        update serList;
}
Best Answer chosen by Dee Dee Aaron
Kritika Raj (26/96)Kritika Raj (26/96)
Hi Dee Dee , I have created a sample test class for your trigger . Please let me know if you have any questions regarding this . If not Please mark this as the Best answer so other can reference it.
@isTest
public class FeedCommentTriggerTest {

@isTest
    public static void testFeedCommentTrigger() {

//Create a User with Profile 'Net Planning Department'
        Id pid = [Select Id FROM Profile WHERE Name = 'Net Planning Department'].Id;

User u = new User();
        u.ProfileId = pid;
        //here fill all the required fields for the User Record