function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Shawn Low 37Shawn Low 37 

Im new to development, like this is my 1st real Trigger.

We use Campaigns differently than it was designed for. Every lead is assigned to a Campaign when it's created.
I have three (3) text fields on the Lead page payout, CampaignId, Campaign Name, & Campaign Member Id. I would like to use a Trigger to populate those fields.
I would like to capture the following fields from the Campaign member Object
1. CampaignMemberId
I am also trying to capture the CampaignId and the Campaign Name.
I would like to display those three (3) fields on the Lead Obejct page layout.
1. Is this even possisble? Im starting to think it's not.
2. being brand new I don;t have "borrowed code" per say, or a template I can use to build a trigger.
If someone has a template I can use I would be eternally greatful.
I have tried formual fields, and the Process Builder and both were not able to do what I needed.
Naren9Naren9
Hi Shawn,
Below is the sample code.Modify according to your environment.
I have tested below code in my Org and it is working.

Below Trigger will run when a New Lead is Inserted or Updated.
If that Lead is assigned with a Campaign, then it will get the Campaign Name and Update the Lead Description Field.
1. First you need to Identify the relationship field between Lead and Campaign. In my case it is related by CampaignName__c on lead.

trigger LeadCampaignUpdateFields on Lead (before insert,before Update) {
    for (Lead L: Trigger.new)
    {
        system.debug('Campaigns found.'+L.CampaignName__c);
        if(L.CampaignName__c!=null)
        {
            //Search for Matached Campaign
            List <Campaign> matchingCampaign = [Select Id,Name from Campaign where Id=:L.CampaignName__c limit 1];