function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
KCali12KCali12 

Using map to insert records with unique field combinations

I've never used a map in an Apex class before, but I think this scenario requires one, and I need help.

I have a custom object called Time_Allocation__c with the following fields:
  • Unit_Subunit__c (Formula field - string)
  • Time_Sheet_Allocated_Hrs__c (Lookup to to Time_Sheet_Allocated_Hrs__c object)
  • Time_Sheet__c (Lookup to Time_Sheet__c object)

With my batch Apex, which is querying all Time_Allocation__c records where the Time_Sheet_Allocated_Hrs__c field is null, I need to do the following:
  1. Create one Time_Sheet_Allocated_Hrs record for each Time_Sheet__c/Unit_Subunit__c combination.
  2. Populate the Time_Allocation__c record with the appropriate Time_Sheet_Allocated_Hrs__c lookup field (based on the appropriate Time_Sheet_c/Unit_Subunit__c combo.
Here is my class so far:

global class TSAllocatedHrsBatch implements

Database.Batchable<sObject>{

global Database.QueryLocator start(Database.BatchableContext bc){
        	return Database.getQueryLocator(
        	[SELECT Id, Time_Sheet_Allocated_Hrs__c, Time_Sheet__c, Unit_Subunit__c  from Time_Allocation__c where 
         	Type__c = 'Program Time' AND Time_Sheet_Allocated_Hrs__c = null order by Time_Sheet__c]);
    }

global void execute(Database.BatchableContext bc, List<Time_Allocation__c> batchList){

Set<Id>taIds = new Set<Id>();
            Set<String>UnitSubList = new Set<String>();
            Set<Id>TimeSheetIds = new Set<Id>();

for (Time_Allocation__c ta : batchList){
                	taIds.add(ta.Id);
                	UnitSubList.add(ta.Unit_Subunit__c);
                	TimeSheetIds.add(ta.Time_Sheet__c);

Map<Id,String> tsAllHrsMap = new Map<Id, String>();
                tsAllHrsMap.put(ta.Time_Sheet__c, ta.Unit_Subunit__c);