function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Jessica SuboczJessica Subocz 

How to create a custom button to trigger a flow

Hello, 

I have spent the last three days muddling through flow builder and process builder, red everything I can find on my issue, but still find myself lost and unable to complete my task at hand.

I am attempting to create a custom button to trigger a flow and process. The end result would be an automated process to re-open leads and create activity logs among other things. I need the custom button to trigger the flow, which will trigger the process. I am fairly new to this sort of thing, and thanks to COVID working remotely isn't ideal either. So far I have created a field which would be toggled true/false once the button is pressed, which would then trigger a flow. However, when I attempt to use the new checkbox field but when creating the flow, I don't see my new checkbox field as a choice to use for field conditions. So I can't figure out how to toggle the checkbox if I can't actually find it in the fields??

Many of the trailblazer comment threads seem to end in catch-22s - either Chatter is the answer which we don't use, or Javascript, which doesn't work in Lightning, etc. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated!
ShirishaShirisha (Salesforce Developers) 
Hi Jessica,

Greetings!

You can simply invoke the flow using the custom button instead of Invoking it whenever the checkbox is checked.Otherwise,if you are requirement to invoke the flow whenever the checkbox is checked instead of clicking the Custom Button then you would need to write the criteria in the flow to get the record if the checkbox is true only.

You can use this document (https://trailhead.salesforce.com/en/content/learn/projects/flow_calculate/flow_calculate_implement) to create custom button to invoke the flow directly.