function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Matthew Hayes 46Matthew Hayes 46 

Help with a formula:

I am getting the below error on a formula and not sure where the error is.  Everything looks right to me, I am a admin not a developer.

User-added image
Best Answer chosen by Matthew Hayes 46
Andrew GAndrew G
ok,
first i note that you have an extra '+' at the end of the formula, try removing that.

After that, try troubleshoot as below

1. cut and paste what you have into notepad.
2. take the first line only and paste it into the formula.  Try and save. 
3.  if error, review the format to ensure it matches the IF fomat i described earlier.
IF(TEXT(Somefield__c) = 'Needed', 'SomefieldName__c' + br(),  '' )
4. if error continue, try changing format or contents to troubleshoot. e.g.
IF(
  TEXT(Somefield__c) = 'Needed',
  'Some field' ,
  'nothing found'
)
5. once a single line is resolved, and one extra line in same format
IF(TEXT(Somefield__c) = 'Needed', 'SomefieldName__c' + br(),  '') +
IF(TEXT(Someotherfield__c) = 'Needed',  'Someotherfield__c'+br(), '')

Once two lines work, add the extras.  

Regards

ANdrew

All Answers

VinayVinay (Salesforce Developers) 
Hi Mathew,

Why are you using multiple if conditions?

Instead try to use OR condition something like below.

IF(

OR(
Field_X__c > (0.25*Field_Y__c)+Field_Y__c,
Field_X__c< Field_Y__c,
Field_X__c = 0,
Field_X__c = 0
),
“Yes”,
“No”
)

https://salesforce.stackexchange.com/questions/20848/how-to-use-or-within-a-if-statement-in-formula-field

Thanks,
Vinay Kumar
Sorry Vinay, I am not following.  Again I am not a developer.