function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Ankit Arora 29Ankit Arora 29 

Semi-Colon Separated Field, Store into multiple fields

Hi Everyone,

There is a Text field called Scholarship Name that has data in the form of SemiColon like aaaa;bbbb;cccc;dddd. 
This above length is not fixed, it can have one more value in it.

I am new in terms of coding and I tried to create a Trigger which is working in Sandbox. Can someone help me to optimize the code and also how to write a test class so that it can pass the validation test. This data in Scholarship name is going to be split and then compare it with the data in the Scholarship Object and fetch the descriptions and stored it in the Scholarship1, Scholarship2, Scholarship3 and Schorship4 fields. Please find below the code I have written. 

APEX TRIGGER: 

trigger OpportunityTrigger on Opportunity (before insert, before update) {
if(Trigger.isBefore){
if(Trigger.isInsert){
OpportunityScholarshipHandler.updateScholarCodesToNames(Trigger.New);
}
if(Trigger.isUpdate){
OpportunityScholarshipHandler.updateScholarCodesToNames(Trigger.New);
}
}
}

-----------

APEX CLASS:

public class OpportunityScholarshipHandler {
public static void updateScholarCodesToNames(List<Opportunity> newOpp){
List<String> scholarCode = new List<String>();
List<Scholarship__c> scholarName = new List<Scholarship__c>();
for (Opportunity opp : newOpp){
if(opp.Scholarship_Name__c != NUll){
scholarCode = opp.Scholarship_Name__c.split(';');
}
scholarName = [Select Scholarship_Description__c from Scholarship__c where Scholarship_Code__c IN :scholarCode];
if(scholarName.size() == 4){
opp.Scholarships1__c = String.valueOf(scholarName[0].Scholarship_Description__c);
opp.Scholarships2__c = String.valueOf(scholarName[1].Scholarship_Description__c);