function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Eugene RitenbandEugene Ritenband 

Need help with an Apex Trigger to Update a Checkbox field after a Document is uploaded

Hi All, 

I am very new to writing triggers and need some help on this one. On the Opportunity object, there is a custom checkbox field called "Invoice Attached". When an Invoice is uploaded to that Opp, I would like the checkbox will be marked. I have attached my Trigger and Test Class. Any help would be greatly appreciated. User-added imageUser-added image
Best Answer chosen by Eugene Ritenband
Rick HaagRick Haag
Hi Eugene,

Take a look at this post as it might be helpful.
Updating a checkbox field if a File is uploaded through ContentDocumentLink trigger (https://developer.salesforce.com/forums/?id=9060G0000005Me4QAE)

You might consider using a Lightning Flow Screen to guide the user in the file upload process and include an update for the "Invoice_Attached__c" field. Otherwise, it may not be certain to know if the file is an invoice or some errant file.

All Answers

Rick HaagRick Haag
Hi Eugene,

Take a look at this post as it might be helpful.
Updating a checkbox field if a File is uploaded through ContentDocumentLink trigger (https://developer.salesforce.com/forums/?id=9060G0000005Me4QAE)

You might consider using a Lightning Flow Screen to guide the user in the file upload process and include an update for the "Invoice_Attached__c" field. Otherwise, it may not be certain to know if the file is an invoice or some errant file.
This was selected as the best answer
Hi Rick, 

Thanks for sending over the link. I will take a look at it. Thank you! 

-Eugene
Hey Rick,