function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Kristen Aldrich 14Kristen Aldrich 14 

Error System.QueryException Duplicate fields selected

I received 100+ error emails overnight that all look a bit like what I've copied/pasted below. I'm not a developer and am trying to figure out how to fix this. Luckily it's in our Partial Sandbox, so is not affecting our Production org but still, would like to get to the bottom of it. From what I've read, a duplicate field error like this means there are fields with identical API names and the query errors out essentially not knowing which one to use/reference. I do see fields with the label "Amount" with identical APIs but nothing that has changed or been added in the last couple days, which makes me think why would this error suddenly come up now. Where do I find the query? How do I identify which Amount field it's looking for? And where/how do I update the query to fix this?

Error Type: System.QueryException
Error Date: 2019-12-13 04:15:20
Message: "npsp__Largest_Soft_Credit_Date__c,npo02__LastOppAmount__c,npo02__LastCloseDate__c,npo02__LastMembershipAmount__c
^
ERROR at Row:1:Column:350
duplicate field selected: Amount

Rollups State:"
Context: CRLP.ContactSoftCredit

Stack Trace:
No stacktrace available at the time of saving the record. (npsp)
Foram Rana RForam Rana R
Hi Kristen,

You got this error bcs : two fields have the same API name
Example :

Account obj  = [Select Id, Name, Name from Account];
Here Name  field is used twice then also we are getting two fields have the same API name Error.
Check your select query and let me know your review.
Mark it as best answer if you resolved it.

Thanks,
Foram Rana

Thanks Foram. Where can I find the select query to edit it?
Foram Rana RForam Rana R
In your apex class related to your functionality.