function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Uma PrabhakarUma Prabhakar 

trigger to prevent duplicate records on multiple fields in salesforce

Hello Developers

i am new to the apex development, i have been given a task for creating Triggers to prevent duplicate records on multiple fields , i know this is can be achived through Duplicate Rules, but still i want to try with the Apex trigger

Assignedto__c (Lookup(User)

Quater_Year__c(Picklist)

Month__c(Picklist)

i want to create a Duplication rule on these 3 fields, 

i refered the below link, but i could not get the correct code

https://www.mstsolutions.com/technical/preventing-duplicate-records-based-on-multiple-fields-in-salesforce/

Best Answer chosen by Uma Prabhakar
Christan G 4Christan G 4
Hi Viniya! Awe thanks for the compliment! Practice makes perfect. I was once a newbie as well and knew nothing about code. I just studied and kept practicing. I am still learning as we speak. Lol. Anyway, I have updated the logic of the code to mitigate the scenario I mentioned. Please view the updated code below. The main difference in the updated code is that rather than using the contains method, I actually iterate through all the existing records one by one to see if there is a match. Also, due to me iterating through each record, I didn't need those other list I created. As a result, I removed them. If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to me.

Apex Class (Updated!):
public class ContactTriggerHandler {

public static void dupContactError (List <Contact> newTrigCon) {

//List of all Contact Records currently in the database    
    List <Contact> allCon = [SELECT ID, Name, Assignedto__c, Quater_Year__c, Month__c FROM Contact];

//Iterate through new potential records
        for (Contact oneConTrig : newTrigCon) {