function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Ankit Garg 117Ankit Garg 117 

Trigger to perform Multiple workflows

Hey..

I have 4-5 workflows which do the same function on the Account object. They all put a Date Stamp based on different fileds in a picklist. Since we have 5 options in a picklist and we are tracking the date of every option, I have to create 5 different workflows. 

I have little to no experience working with Triggers. Is it possible to achieve this with 1 trigger?

Thanks 
Best Answer chosen by Ankit Garg 117
Andrew GAndrew G
Yes you could do this with a Trigger.

But why not consider a Process Builder?  I assume you have 5 x date fields that relate to each status.
Do one Decision point based on the Picklist changing.Then do 1 x IA where you have formula to update each of the Date Fields, using formula which tests the Status field and then updates the associated Date field.  Psuedo code : NewStatusDateField = formula IF(ISCHANGED(Status) && ISPICKVAL(Status,"New"), NOW, NewStatusDateField)

Regards
Andrew

All Answers

Andrew GAndrew G
Yes you could do this with a Trigger.

But why not consider a Process Builder?  I assume you have 5 x date fields that relate to each status.
Do one Decision point based on the Picklist changing.Then do 1 x IA where you have formula to update each of the Date Fields, using formula which tests the Status field and then updates the associated Date field.  Psuedo code : NewStatusDateField = formula IF(ISCHANGED(Status) && ISPICKVAL(Status,"New"), NOW, NewStatusDateField)

Regards
Andrew
This was selected as the best answer
ANUTEJANUTEJ (Salesforce Developers) 
Hi Ankit,

I believe your use case is that according to the type selected from the picklist you are inserting the record with the selected values and timestamp.