function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Steve Connelly 5Steve Connelly 5 

I could use a little help with nested "while" loops in a trigger.

Good morning all. I have a trigger that creates new records related to opportunities.

I have everything working but my loop and i am stuck. I am very new to coding and would really appreciate some assistance.

This iwhat I have so far and everything works...except....
                            //while loop create record process                     	
              				decimal counter = 0;
              				while (counter < opportunityList.Quarters_Spanned_op__c)
                			{

Open_Quarter__c oq           = new Open_Quarter__C();
                			Quarter_Number__c qn		 = new Quarter_Number__c();
                			oq.Amount_Per_Quarter_oq__c  = opportunityList.Amount_per_Quarter_op__c;
                			oq.Close_Date_oq__c          = opportunityList.CloseDate;
                			oq.Name            			 = opportunityList.Quarter_Created_op__c;
                			oq.Opportunity_Name_oq__c    = opportunityList.Id;
                			oq.Quarters_Spanned_oq__c    = opportunityList.Quarters_Spanned_op__c;

createOpenQuarter.add(oq);
                			counter++;

}//end while loop                                             
When I create each new record I need it to populate a field in that record with escalating quarter names. Right now it creates the right nimber of records but they all have the same quarter name in them which the starting quarter of the opp.

Now I have four custom formula fields in the opp that I can use.
  • One with the name for the quarter when the opp was created in this format: 2019-Q1 etc
  • One with the year the opp was started as a number "2019"
  • One with the starting quarter as a number (1-4)