function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Dave ShulmanDave Shulman 

Trigger update distributor Relationship on account code help

The goal here is to total the Sales Data related to each account for each distributor.  Then see which is the #1 distributor for each account then update the account to reflect that.  My code is throwing no errors, but it isnt updating the field.  Wheres the issue here? I cant find it at all.

Thought it was the SOQL query, but went throug hthat many times and thats definitely pulling the data i want.

Take a look.  Also im pretty new to this so stylistic recommendations are helpful too.
trigger DistributorIDs on Sales_data__c (after insert, after update) {
       Double Amount = 0;
       Double UpdateMap = 0;
       ID PrimaryDistributor;
       Date AfterDate = Date.today().addDays(-45);
       Set<Id>accountIds = new Set<Id>(); //account in trigger.new
       Map<ID, Double> DistributorsList = new Map<ID, Integer>(); //distributors in trigger.new
       for (Sales_data__c Sd: Trigger.new) {
           if(Sd.End_user__c!=null && Sd.Distributor__r!=null){
                accountIds.add(Sd.End_user__c); // adding accounts to set
                DistributorsList.put(Sd.Distributor__c, 0);  // adding distributors to map
           }
       } 
       Map<ID, Double> DistributorsCopy = DistributorsList.clone(); //clone 0'd map

List<Account> accountToUpdate = new List<Account>(); //list for DML
       List<Account> accList = new List<Account>([SELECT Id,(SELECT Distributor__c,Amount__c,Date__c FROM 
                                                 Sales_data1__r WHERE Date__c >= :AfterDate) // used sub query on Sales Data
                                                 FROM Account WHERE Id IN :accountIds]);
       for(Account acc : accList){ //looping through every account of above list