function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
David PiperatoDavid Piperato 

update date/time field when note is created

I have created a date/time field that I would like to be updated to the date/time any time a note is created on an opportunity. I have no experience with Apex Triggers, so I wanted to use process builder, but it doesn't allow processes to be created for the notes object. After reading a few similar posts, I wrote the following trigger, but it doesn't seem to work. If anybody can explain why and how to fix it, I would greatly appreciate it. Thank you in advance. Trigger:

trigger SetOppDate on Note (after insert) {

List<Opportunity> oppsToUpdate = new List<Opportunity>();
    for (Note nRecord : trigger.new) {
        //Check if the note is related to an opportunity
        String parentIdString = String.valueof(nRecord.parentid);
        if (parentIdString.substring(0,3) == '006'){
            //Set the Last_Note__c field on the opportunity
            Opportunity opp = new Opportunity(Id = nRecord.ParentId, Last_Note__c= Date.TODAY());
            oppsToUpdate.add(opp);
       }
    }
    update oppsToUpdate;

}
SarvaniSarvani
Hi David,

I have tested your code and it's working as expected and Updating the field "Last_Note__c" on opportunity record. Where exactly are you trying to add your note to the record. As shown in the image below If you are trying to use the Notes& Attachments (Hightlighted in red) for testing it will not Update your field as it will consider as attachment. Try creating new note using the New Note Button in hightlights panel (Hightlighted with green Button in image) which will tag your note in Notes & attachment section. 

User-added image

Additionally, verify in first place if your note is attached to the Opportunity record using the below query replacing your opportunity record id.