function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Rajesh Singh 88Rajesh Singh 88 

Apex Class/Trigger : Calculate the sum of the 'Amount' of QuoteLineItems on the custom field 'Total Amount' on the opportunity.

I think this can be resolved using roll-up summary fields but my organization wants to go with Apex. I am a newbie to Apex. Can anyone please help me on this. I tried in Apex but i was able to update the Total Amount field with the sum amount value of quotelineitem related to a single quote , which will be completely wrong as quote is having masterdetail relationship with opportunity 

Objects/fields involved :
Opportunity (Total_Amount__c)
Quote : Masterdetail relationship with Opportunity
QuoteLineItem (Amount__c) : Masterdetail with Quote

What I excatly want to achieve is for example Opportunity is having 2 quotes and these quotes are having 3 quoteline items each , I want the sum of all the quotelineitems to be updated in the Total Amount field on Opportunity.

David Zhu 🔥David Zhu 🔥
You may use the following sample as reference:
AggregateResult[] groupedResults = [select sum(amount__c) from quotelineitem where quote.opportunity.id ='0068A000007ugyU'];
decimal totalAmount = decimal.valueof(groupedResults[0].get(0));

then assign totalAmount to quantity.total_amount__c field.
@David Zhu , Thanks for the refernce. I wrote the below piece of code as suggested but getting the below error so can you please help me out to resolve the error.

Error:Apex trigger QuoteLineItem caused an unexpected exception, contact your administrator: QuoteLineItem: execution of AfterUpdate caused by: System.SObjectException: Invalid field Quote.opportunityId for AggregateResult: Trigger.QuoteLineItem: line 21, column 1

trigger QuoteLineItem on QuoteLineItem (after insert, after update) {
    set<id> quoteIdset =new set<id>();