function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Sharon FreasSharon Freas 

Checking for null

Probably a stupid question but here goes. I'm a long-time developer but pretty new to SalesForce Apex.

I have a custom object table containing a bunch of user Ids that is partially filled in. I need to assign fields from table to fields on account records.

Right now I am checking before each field assignment if that particular field is null before doing the assignment like:
if (ct.Id1 != null) {
   a.Id1 = ct.Id1;
}

Is there a better way to do this? There's a bunch of fields and it's a pain to write this over and over.

Thanks! 
MoonpieMoonpie
Hi Sharon,

If I am understanding your question, you are wanting to use a variable for your field name.
Or am I misunderstanding?

Please elaborate a bit more on what you are doing - with as much info as you can give (that is pertinent to this context) on the custom object and fields.
Sharon FreasSharon Freas
The custom object is a table of potential account owners for different situations. 
ct
Name__c
Id1__c
Id2__c
Id3__c

Records:
Name__c: Row1  Id1__c: userId1   Id2__c: null         Id3__c: userId2
Name__c Row2   Id1__c: null          Id2__c: userId3  Id3__c: null
Name__c Row3   Id1__c: userId4    Id2__c: userId5  Id3__c: userId6

Here's what I'm writing to avoid getting a null exception
if (ct.Id__c1 != null) {
   a.Id1__c = ct.Id1__c;
}

if (ct.Id__c2 != null) {
   a.Id2__c = ct.Id2__c;
}

if (ct.Id__c3 != null) {
   a.Id3__c = ct.Id3__c;
}

Am I overdoing it and assigning null to a lookup field in accounts won't throw an exception? If I do need to be checking for this, is there a better / faster way to code this?

Thanks for your help! I really appreciate it.
Sharon FreasSharon Freas
I should add that by the time I've gotten to the assignment, I've already found the right row in the table