function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Timothy Wade 18Timothy Wade 18 

Need Help With Error with Apex Triggers

Hello, I am very new to writing Apex triggers and I am practicing. I wrote the following apex trigger:

Basically, what I'm trying to do is the following:

Write a trigger that creates two identical Contacts whenever an Account is created. Make sure both Contacts are associated with the Account. Use any values for the fields on the Contacts - just make sure to use variables when populating the fields of each Contact to make sure they are identical.

rigger CreateIdenticalContacts on Account (after insert) {
    for(Account acc: Trigger.new) {
        Contact con                 =  new Contact();
        con.FirstName          =  'Aki';  
        con.FirstName          = 'Akisey';
        con.LastName           = 'Johnson';
        con.LastName          = 'Johnson';
        con.AccountId           = acc.Id;

insert acc;
    }        
}

Here's my test class:
@isTest
public class IdenticalContactsTest {

@isTest static void createAccount()  {
        Account acc  = new Account();
        acc.Name                        = 'Test123';
      insert acc;

}
}

Here's the error that I' receiving:

21:41:32:112 FATAL_ERROR System.DmlException: Insert failed. First exception on row 0; first error: CANNOT_INSERT_UPDATE_ACTIVATE_ENTITY, CreateIdenticalContacts: execution of AfterInsert

When I run test, I receive 100% code coverage. I even deleted other triggers in my sandbox org to see if the error would go away but it didn't. Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Tim

ANUTEJANUTEJ (Salesforce Developers) 
Hi Timothy,

Can you try below code and check if it works.

Trigger acctri on account(before insert)
{
if(trigger.isinsert && trigger.isbefore)
{
list<contact> conlist = new list<contact>();