function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Olga Kim 5Olga Kim 5 

create a parent and a child record in a single apex class

Dear Salesforce Professional

I am a beginner in Programming.
Please help me resolve this problem.

I have a requirement to create a child record (on Billing Line object) if parent records (on Billing object) exist I need to attach the child record (Billing Line) to the parent (Billing) but if Parent record doesn't exist I need to create parent and child records.

This trigger is supposed to fire when I check a checkbox on a TEST object.

For some reason, my code can't find parent records and can't create one.

I get this error message
"TriggerTestBillingLineCreate: execution of AfterUpdate caused by: System.DmlException: Insert failed. First exception on row 0; first error: REQUIRED_FIELD_MISSING, Required fields are missing: [AcctSeed__Customer__c]: [AcctSeed__Customer__c] Class.testBillingLineCreate.createBillingLine: line 48, column 1 Trigger.TriggerTestBillingLineCreate: line 5, column 1"

Basically, it is saying the required field is missing when I am trying to create a parent record. I don't understand why it is missing if I populate it there and in some cases why it needs to create a parent record if a parent exists in a database. It just needs to find it and link a child record to the parent.

I attached my code below. I appreciate any advice. Thank you for your help!

public class testBillingLineCreate {
    public static void createBillingLine (list<TEST__c> TestList, map<id, TEST__c> oldMap)
    {
     list<AcctSeed__Billing_Line__c> billingLineList=new List<AcctSeed__Billing_Line__c>();      
     list<AcctSeed__Billing__c> billingList= new list<AcctSeed__Billing__c>();

for(TEST__c objtest:TestList)
        {
        if(objtest.Billed__c==true && oldMap.get(objtest.Id).Billed__c==false)

{