function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Julianne TajubaJulianne Tajuba 

Apex/Visualforce Newbie and Change Set Errors

I am very new to writing apex code and have come to a roadblock when it comes to moving the updated Visualforce page I've helped edit out of the sandbox and into production. When I created the changeset I added the visual force page and associate apex class that I've been working in. When I went to validate this change set in production I got several component errors. Namely that a certain variable doesn't exist and that the apex class I thought I'd created didn't exist as well.

Below I've attached the code where several of the errors exist namely that the Variable: Special_Skills__c doesn't exist. I have done some trailheads and googled other questions to get to the point where the visualforce page created is exactly what we are looking for. I just need some help in overcoming these errors so that I can get this into production ASAP in addition to increasing my knowledge of code and working in a sandbox and ultimately transferring this information into production. Thanks in advance!

//get the multi-select pick list values
    public List<SelectOption> MPOptions3 {
     get {
       List<SelectOption> options = new List<SelectOption>();

DescribeFieldResult SpecialSkills = Schema.account.Special_Skills__c.getDescribe();  

List<Schema.PicklistEntry> f = SpecialSkills.getPicklistValues();
       Integer listSize = f.size();

for(Schema.PicklistEntry a : f) {
           options.add(new SelectOption(a.getValue(), a.getLabel()));
        } 
       return options;
     }  
     set;
    }

//get and set the multi-select pick list as checkboxes
       public String[] MPItems3 { 
     get {
        String[] selected = new List<String>();
        List<SelectOption> sos = this.MPOptions;