function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Andy Kallio 7Andy Kallio 7 

Admin needs help Testing integration

Hello,
I'm an admin that has just written my first integration. The code makes a call to an external service, receives some json, and then parses it and places it into a custom object. The json could either contain new records or update an existing record from a previous run...this is being done with upsert dml statement.  This process runs on a schedule. 

My question is regarding testing. There are no problems with testing the insert of new records. There is a test method that sets up all of the needed test data and a json string that makes use of that test data. The method returns that string and is used as a mockHTTPResponse. This tests everything except for the branch of code that updates existing records. This is where I'm challenged...I don't see how I can make another json string that uses first set of test data. 

So, I'm hoping that someone out there has been through this before and can offers some suggestions. 

Best Answer chosen by Andy Kallio 7
Abdul KhatriAbdul Khatri
This is an http callout to an external service that returns a response in the form of json, whose information is getting upserted into your custom object. Since you already mentioned having a test method that make use of the the mockHTTPResponse which I am not sure you are using for insert or for update but let say if that use of Insert, you can create another mock response by adding a key field used to upsert the record but before that insert the record manually in the custom object.

I am presuming your mock class name is mockHTTPResponse, you can create another class like mockHTTPUpdateResponse and add the key value in the response with the value already existed.