function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Heather_HansonHeather_Hanson 

Create Popup alert on Account when Contact needs to be updated

I need to create a popup alert on Account object that is triggered when the related contacts (related list) need to be updated.  So I want to look at a custom date field in Contact "Last_Verified__c" and if it is blank or older than 2 years this should trigger the popup on the Account to recommend updating the contacts.

I can figure out the visualforce page, but I'm still new to Apex (I've only got about 3 triggers so far) and this one feels a little complicated.  Can anyone help get me started on the Apex Class?

Thanks!
Alain CabonAlain Cabon
Hi,

That is not possible from a trigger. A trigger can just stop the program with an error (addError Marks a trigger record with a custom error message and prevents any DML operation from occurring) but that is the only message allowed and that is not a popup either (but that suggests falsely that any "message" can be sent from a trigger).

It is a common need (many same questions about a popup and a trigger) but that cannot be done from a trigger. The popup must be triggered from a Visualforce page after the synchronous updates/inserts of records (including the synchronous triggers) by reading the value that you want to check. 

Mohan Reddy 80Mohan Reddy 80
Hi Alain,

Did you find any solution ?
Heather_HansonHeather_Hanson

Hi Mohan,