function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Nick ValerioteNick Valeriote 

Flow Validation Rule To See if Field Value Already Exists

Hi SF Community,

I'm somewhat new to Flow, but managed to put together a Flow (with the help of this community) that allows users to click a button (Create SOW) on my Project__c object and fill in a screen that then creates an associated SOW record (SOW__c).

I have a Record Update element at the end of the Flow (see below screen shot) that grabs the SOW Name and adds it to a field called Related Account SOW on the associated project record.  

User-added image

User-added image

I'm looking for a way (maybe a validation through another element) to check to see if a value already exists in the Related_Account_SOW__c field, and if it does, warn the user and don't let them save the record.  We don't want them overwriting this field with a new SOW record if one already exists.

Any ideas?
Thanks!
Nick
Best Answer chosen by Nick Valeriote
Thanks again, Guarav.  Turns out I needed to remove the original condition ({!RelAccSOW} equals {!$GlobalConstant.EmptyString}), and replace it with the new condition you provided ({!RelAccSOW} is null true)...for each outcome.  Cheers!

All Answers

Gaurav HandooGaurav Handoo
Hi Nick

Happy to help again.

Using Current Flow

You would need to pass the said field as a variable in the initial URL itself by adding another variable "&RelAccSOW={!Project.Related_Account_SOW__c}", where RelAccSOW will be an input type variable with default value of "EmptyString" global constant.

Your Flow would start with a decision element validating if anything has come in the new varibale we just defined.
Condition1: RelAccSOW Equals EmptyString Global Constant
Condition2: RelAccSOW not Equals EmptyString Global Constant