function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Chris Brady 8Chris Brady 8 

how to write an apex call to update a field on the lead object

Hello,

I am new to APEX so thanks in advance for helping a newbie out.

I need an APEX to run at midnight (I will use the SF scheduler) to update a custom field (whatever__c) with a number (42). My end goal is to have this field update (whatever__c = 42) will kickoff a process I created in process builder. 

Thanks again everyone 
AubryAubry
Chris,
This would involve use of the Schedulable apex interface. 

I strongly recommend you check out the related Trailhead course: https://trailhead.salesforce.com/en/content/learn/modules/asynchronous_apex/async_apex_scheduled
Here's what I have now
trigger UpdateWhatever__c on Lead (before update) {
    if(Lead.Whatever__c <> 1321){
        Whatever__c = '42';

}

}     
But am getting an error on line 1: Invalid character in identifier: UpdateWhatever__c
AubryAubry
Chris, I don't know if you can put double-underscores in a trigger name.  change the name to not have the "__c" at the end, just "UpdateWhatever"
Tried this and still getting errors
trigger UpdateWhatever on Lead (before update) {
    if(Lead.Whatever__c <> 1321){
        Whatever__c = '42';

}

on line 2 and 3saying varriable does not exist Whatever__c
AubryAubry
If what you've pasted is your actual trigger code, there are a few changes you'll need to make.
trigger UpdateWhatever on Lead (before update) {
    for(Lead updlead : Trigger.new){ // First, loop through the leads that are triggering this apex
        if(updlead.Whatever__c != 1321){ // Check the value of each lead's Whatever__c field
            updlead.Whatever__c = 42; // Update the value, if criteria are matched.
        }
    }
}
I changed the <> formula operator to the != Apex operator.