function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
CushtyCushty 

Default Stage Name when creating opportunity

Hi,

I am new to triggers and struggling to create one.
I am trying to create a trigger which will default the Opportunity Stage Name to 'Prospecting'  whether the opportunity is created from scratch or from an Account.  I have tried this but nothing happens

Simple apex trigger on opportunity
trigger OppDefaultStageName on Opportunity (before insert, before update) {
     for(Opportunity opp: trigger.new){
           (opp.StageName = 'Qualified Opportunity');

}
}

Test class
@isTest
private class TestDefaultStageName
{
 static testMethod void myTest()
 { 

Account acc = new Account( Name = 'Test', BillingCountry = 'United Kingdom', Industry = 'Insurance' );
  insert acc;

Opportunity opp = new Opportunity(Name = 'Opp 1', StageName = 'Qualified Opportunity', 
  Opportunity_Type__c = 'PQQ', Estimated_Value__c = 1000, Probability__c = '0-19%', Bid_Date__c = System.today(), 
  CloseDate = System.today(), Description = 'Test', AccountId = acc.Id);

insert opp;
  }
 }

I know this is going to be simple but help would be appreciated

Carlos Campillo GallegoCarlos Campillo Gallego
Hi Cushty,

I'm not sure if the origin of the Opportunity is relevant for you in this case or if you are just mentioning it. Even if this origin was relevant, I think that your best shot would be to create a process with Process Builder and you won't need even the test class. The thing is that you are just updating a field so it'd be quite easy to achieve this with a process.

Give it a try and let me know if I can help you further. :)

Kind regards,

Carlos.
KaranrajKaranraj
You can do that using Workflow or Process builder to update the record value without writing single line of code.

1. Create your workflow rule and select Opportunity object