function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Steve NelsonSteve Nelson 

Formatting apex:inputField value attribute for Date datatype

Hello

Newbie here. I fear this is a bit basic, but I've been looking for answers for a couple of weeks with no luck. Hopefully this isn't too much to ask of the community.

​I have a custom object and a Visualforce page to edit the records. There is a Due Date field on the object of type Date.  When the record is edited, we need the date that is displayed in the input field to appear either in US format, or according to the user's locale.  We are fine with either. What we always get is yyyy-mm-dd. We want mm/dd/yyyy. Have read that Visualforce is supposed to respect a user's locale settings.

There are lots of posts around date formatting when you are using apex:outputText and apex:param tags when you are just viewing the data, but that doesn't work when you have an apex:inputField tag.

Here is the code:

<apex:page standardController="MyObject__c" docType="html-5.0" >
 <apex:form>
  <apex:outputPanel layout="block" >
   <apex:outputLabel value="Due Date" for="duedate"/>
   <apex:inputField type="date" showDatePicker="false" styleClass="slds-input" id="duedate" value="{!MyObject__c.Due_Date__c}"/>
  </apex:outputPanel>
 </apex:form>
</apex:page>