function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Katherine RoweKatherine Rowe 

Need an example of an unhandled exception

I need a trigger that will throw an unhandled exception. I'm new to writing triggers, can someone help me whip one up? I'm testing the emails that SF sends out to the last modified user on the trigger, when there is an unhandled exception.

It can be really simple. I just want to be able easily fire the trigger in SF and for it to throw an unhandled exception. 

Best Answer chosen by Katherine Rowe
pconpcon
You have to create a new exception type.  You cannot just throw a bare exception.  Also you'll want to verify that you actually threw the exception that you expecting, not just that something else broke in your test.  So for example:

TestUtils.cls
public class TestUtils {
    public static Boolean gotTestException = false;
    public static Boolean throwTestException = false;

public static String TEST_EXCEPTION = 'This is a test exception';

public class UnhandledException extends Exception {}
}

MyTrigger.trigger
trigger MyTrigger on Opportunity (before update) {
    try {
        if (Test.isRunningTest() && TestUtils.throwTestException) {
            throw new TestUtils.UnhandledException(TestUtils.TEST_EXCEPTION);
        }

// Do stuff
    } catch (Exception e) {
        if (e.getMessage() == TestUtils.TEST_EXCEPTION) {
            TestUtils.gotTestException = true;
        }

// Do more stuff
    }
}

MyTriggerTest.cls
@isTest
private class MyTriggerTest {
    static testMethod void exceptionTest() {
        Opportunity testOpp = new Opportunity(...);

Test.startTest();

TestUtils.throwTestException = true;
        insert testOpp;

Test.stopTest();

System.assert(TestUtils.gotTestException, 'We should have thrown and caught an exception');
    }
}