function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
SFTechySFTechy 

Method does not exist or incorrect signature: SalesforceBaseURL.GetSFBaseURL()

Hi, I'm fairly new to APEX.  I wrote a class which needs to get the Salesforce base URL of my org instance, so I can append it with a record id. I keep getting the following error message when I execute an anonymous block.  

Compile error at line 1 column 1
Method does not exist or incorrect signature: SalesforceBaseURL.GetSFBaseURL()

I'm running this in my sandbox.  Whether it be Eclipse or the Developer Console, I get the same error message.  Can someone please help?  What am I doing wrong?  Thank you so much!

Anonymous block syntax:
SalesforceBaseURL.GetSFBaseURL();

public class SalesforceBaseURL {   
    //public String SFBaseURL;    

public static String GetSFBaseURL(){
        // Get the dynamic Salesforce base URL
        //SFBaseURL = Url.getSalesforceBaseUrl().toExternalForm();
        //SFBaseURL = "TESTING";
        return 'TESTING';
    }
}
pconpcon
In your anonymous block you need to have the class URL before.  So you need to run

URL.getSalesforceBaseUrl().toExternalForm();

More info: https://developer.salesforce.com/docs/atlas.en-us.apexcode.meta/apexcode/apex_methods_system_url.htm
bob_buzzardbob_buzzard
While its not well documented, I don't believe you can use classes in this way when executing anonymous code.  The returned information varies depending on which tool I use, but the Force.com IDE gives the best that I've found.

When I try your code from the IDE, I get the following error:

---

Compile error at line 6 column 26

Only top-level class methods can be declared static

---

Which suggests to me that anonymous apex actually creates some kind of class to execute your code.