function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Anton FlärdAnton Flärd 

Triggers and Classes - Extend Email-To-Case through matching TextBody

Hi

I'm trying to extend the Email-To-Case functionality and I'm not sure why it's not working.
The purpose of this is to read two lines from an incoming email and depending on the data from Salesforce, either create a new case or update a case.

I've tried swapping between using EmailMessage and Messaging.InboundEmailHandler but both produce errors and I think it's related to my crappy code. I've just been writing code for 3 days now so I'm very new to APEX/SOQL.

1) I'm pretty sure the RegEx is working since I've tested that in Execute Anonymous Window
2) How can I make this work?
3) In my APEX Class, what should i return when the statements in the code are validated?
4) As it is right now, I don't even know if my code is being triggered. How can I check this?
5) I still need to figure out how to post a message to a user and the Chatter implementation might not be working right now. Is it?

This is my trigger:
trigger op5EmailTrigger on EmailMessage (before insert) {
    op5EmailHandler.getEmailData(Trigger.new);
}

This is my APEX class:

global class op5EmailHandler {
    public static void getEmailData(EmailMessage messageList) {
            for(EmailMessage email : messageList) {
            try {
                if(email.fromAddress == 'hidden@for.now') {
                    String emailSubject = email.Subject;
                    String emailBody = email.TextBody;
                    Pattern assetPattern = Pattern.compile('((e)\\: )(.*)');
                    Pattern serialPattern = Pattern.compile('((l)\\: )(.*)');

// define separate matchers for asset and serial
                    Matcher assetMatcher = assetPattern.matcher(emailBody);