function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Constance RougeConstance Rouge 

Apex trigger: Test class Assertion failed

Hi All,

I am new to Apex triggers. Could you please help me with an issue I have with my test class?
I have a Master-Child relationship between Person account and a custom object called Staff_and_duty_travel__c (Person account being the master), but I am not always sure I'll have a value in the Associated_account__c field of Staff_and_duty_travel__c.
Therefore, I wrote an Apex Trigger before insert on this object.

The Trigger checks if there is a value in Associated_account__c.
If not, it uses the field Staff_email_address__c of the record to search in the emails fields of the Person Accounts (Customer_Email__pc and Secondary_Email__pc) if an account already exists with this email.
If yes, it gives the id of this account to the field Associated_account__c.
If not, it creates the account with the values contained in the record and it gives the id of this new account to the field Associated_account__c.

The trigger seems to work fine (I created several records to test every scenario), but my Test class fails.

Here is my trigger:
trigger SDT_Master_Child_Relation on Staff_and_duty_travel__c (before insert) {

Set<String> staffEmailAdress = new Set <String> ();
    List<Account> accountsList = new List<Account> ();
    Id assocAccountId;
    RecordType personAccountRecordType =  [SELECT Id FROM RecordType WHERE Name = 'Person Account' and SObjectType = 'Account' Limit 1];

//We create the list of all the email adresses from the bookings that are inserted
    for (Staff_and_duty_travel__c Travel : Trigger.New)
    {
        staffEmailAdress.add(Travel.Staff_email_address__c);
    }

//We create the list of all the accounts containing one of the emails from the bookings that are inserted