function readOnly(count){ }
Starting November 20, the site will be set to read-only. On December 4, 2023,
forum discussions will move to the Trailblazer Community.
+ Start a Discussion
Christopher WeisChristopher Weis 

How to Get My 1st Jr Admin Job

Hello all,

I'm working towards my 201 certification and would like to start looking for Jr. Admin jobs.  The problem is that I've never been an Admin, so technically I have 0 years of practical Admin experience and I'm currently in an unrealted field (I'm a mortgage loan officer).  Every job posting I've read (on Indeed, Simply Hired, LinkedIn, etc) is requiring at least 2 years of Salesforce Admin experience, even for low-paying Jr. Admin or Admin assistant jobs.

It would stand to reason that before any given Admin became an Admin, they were not an Admin.  How were you able to get your 1st Jr Admin job if you got it after being in an unrelated field? (I do not have the time or resources to work for free at a non-profit for 2 years at this point in my career).

Thanks,

Chris
Sean BarczynskiSean Barczynski
Hi Chris,

In my professional experience, when a posting says something like "2 years experience," they'll take someone with no experience.  They put that there because they don't want people with no knowledge and no experience applying (though they still do).  If you're getting the certification and you're comfortable with the work and overall job description and requirements, I'd say go for it.  Anything that doesn't require more than 5 years of experience is worth the time to apply.

Hope this helps and good luck!

Sean
William TranWilliam Tran
I agree with Sean that 2 years posting is pretty much the minimum, no one wants to publicly said they want someone with no experience.  

Having certification is qualification for Jr roles (or 2 years experience) so I would say go for it.

As an admin, the number one skillset needed is the ability to understand the issue and come up with suggestions/solutions.

Thx